Guest blog post: A Canadian Family’s First Experience Doing a parkrun

I was recently asked by Randall Wharton of the Irish running blog RandRuns: Running Far and Having Fun if I’d like to write a guest post for his blog. Of course I said yes! I wrote a post about our first experience participating in a parkrun event, a weekly, free, timed 5k in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, England!

P1050405

Post run: Back row left to right: Keaghan, me, Alasdair, Stu; Middle row: Ailish and Sally; Front row: Finnen and Harriet

You can find my post on Randall’s blog here.

I love his blog because I can relate to him. Here’s part of how he describes it: “If you are looking for a blog that will help you to run a sub 3-hour marathon, or qualify for the Boston Marathon, or win your age group in the 100 miler, then you’ve definitely come to the wrong place – I’m not an expert, I won’t make you faster, although my experience might just make it easier for you. I just love to run, and share my experiences as a happy back-of-the-packer. Despite this (or perhaps because of it?) this blog has grown remarkably popular over the past year or so to become one of the most popular personal running blogs in the world. Thanks for that!

Running has been a revelation for me – I have made some truly amazing friends, had some brilliant, (and occasionally life-changing), experiences, and it has changed me as a person – hopefully for the better! Running has made me appreciate just how resilient and awesome seemingly ordinary people can be.”

Go check out his blog – and my post!

 

This entry was posted in Blog guest posts, Running race reports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest blog post: A Canadian Family’s First Experience Doing a parkrun

  1. Rand Runs says:

    Thanks for your kind words Kyra, and for your great guest post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

