Modifications to my sled for winter backcountry camping

It might have been 35+ degrees Celsius this week with the humidity making it feel much hotter, but I was thinking of winter camping and modifying my sled!

Last winter I bought a Pelican sled and modified it for my very first winter backcountry camping trip.

DSC03006

My sled during my trip last winter.

 

If you’re interested, you can read my instructions on how to make a sled, and my review of the performance of the sled for a 4-day snowshoeing trip at Algonquin Provincial Park. The trip report is here.

During the trip, I realized that while I intended to buy rigid poles to avoid the sled whacking the back of my ankles, I somehow got the wrong poles and that is exactly what ended up happening, so I needed to replace the poles before my next trip. I also decided to add more points of attachment for bungees or straps to fasten a tarp on top of my precious cargo!

This afternoon, I bought what I needed and made the changes. First, I replaced the poles.

dsc05377

New poles on the left.

Then, I added 6 new points of attachment – one on each end, and 2 more on each side. Now I’ll have even more options for strapping things down.

dsc05378

Now sporting 6 additional points of attachment.

Can’t wait to use it again! (But I’m not yet ready for winter.)

This entry was posted in Backcountry camping, Gear review, Skills, Uncategorized, winter, Winter camping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

