Menu for 3-day Spring Solo Backpacking Trip

Looking for ideas on foods to take backpacking or canoeing? You might find some inspiration in the meal plan for my latest trip. I recently set out on my very first solo backpacking trip, a 3-day hike at Point Grondine Park in the Killarney area. You can read the trip report and watch the trip summary video here.

IMG_9073

I prepared all of my food myself, using lots of fruit, vegetables, nuts and whole grains. The least healthy bits were penguin crackers, M&Ms, Reese’s pieces, pepperettes and gatorade. I dehydrated many things, and portioned everything into single serving sizes.

Here’s what my menu looked like!

Day 1

  • Afternoon snack: pizza gorp, hot chocolate
  • Dinner: curried butternut squash soup with homemade crackers
  • Evening snack: dehydrated fruit and chocolate

Day 2

  • Breakfast: oatmeal with nuts and dried fruit, dehydrated banana, gatorade, tea
  • Morning snack: honey mustard gorp
  • Lunch: tomato and toasted almond spread, homemade crackers, dehydrated vegetables
  • Afternoon snack: fruit leather and dehydrated yogurt, hot chocolate
  • Dinner: ginger mango chicken with cashews, mini pitas
  • Evening snack: dehydrated fruit and chocolate

Day 3

  • Breakfast: couscous with dried fruit, dehydrated banana, gatorade, tea
  • Morning snack: fruit leather and dehydrated yogurt
  • Lunch: roasted eggplant spread, rye crackers, dehydrated vegetables
  • Afternoon snack: pizza gorp
  • Dinner on the way home: hummus, homemade crackers, dehydrated vegetables

I also brought an extra meal of oatmeal with nuts and dried fruit, dehydrated apples, and gatorade, just in case I was delayed for any reason.

Breakfasts and dinners required me to boil water, while lunches were no-cook (however spreads needed to be rehydrated and could be done at breakfast and then carried along with me).

What are your favourite lightweight meals?

Follow me on Facebook: Kyra on the Go: Adventures of a Paddling Triathlete

Follow me on Twitter: @kyrapaterson

This entry was posted in Backcountry camping, menu planning, Trip planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

