Subaru Milton sprint triathlon 2024

Why only do a sprint triathlon on a Sunday morning when you can ride your bike 30k there, do the race, and then ride home again? Yes, I’m a little crazy, but after Alasdair and I first saw an athlete ride to the Multisport Canada Belwood triathlon years ago, we decided to try it too. We’ve ridden to the Milton race together (with our triathlon gear in backpacks), and even 45k to the Subaru Guelph Lake Olympic triathlon, but it’s been a few years.

So on race morning I was up at 5 AM, on my bike at 6 AM, and at Kelso Conservation Area in Milton more than 2 1/2 hours before the race was to start. Unfortunately, it started raining 30 minutes into my ride, and didn’t stop much until after I was home again!

I racked my bike, went through registration, and then waited under a shelter with others. It didn’t take long for me to get cold, because I was soaking wet, it wasn’t warm out, and I had to wait for Alasdair to arrive by car with my triathlon bag – and dry clothes! I forgot to pack sandals, so I hung out in my cycling shoes. A dry long sleeve shirt and my rain coat helped, but my hands and feet were still cold and my fingers were tingly. It wasn’t until I decided to put my wetsuit on half way that I warmed up enough to feel more comfortable!

So cold pre-race.

750m swim

I was in the 5th and final wave. For some reason no one wanted to start at the front, so everyone was standing knee deep or waist deep in a big long line parallel to shore. I like to start at the back and/or side to avoid the most competitive people and the most congestion, but it didn’t work so well this time. When the horn sounded I had my worst swim start in quite some time. Alasdair said it looked like I was being mauled by the people beside me. There were so many arms and legs thrashing and I couldn’t seem to get free of a crowd. I stopped swimming, looked ahead and tried to figure out my next move. My breathing was a mess so I breathed only on the right side for a bit. Then I heard a woman yell, “Stop! Stop!” I’m not sure who she was yelling at. By the time I got to the first turning buoy I had space, things had calmed down and I was swimming and breathing normally! Phew. My navigation was pretty good until I made the turn for shore, and then I couldn’t seem to swim straight at all. I was surprised not to see and/or hear Alasdair as I got out of the water (somehow he missed me!).

30k bike

It was unusual to see that there were still many bikes on my rack when I got back from the swim. I got my wetsuit off, put my sunglasses, helmet, socks, shoes and race belt on, and ran my bike out of transition to the mount line. I got on my bike and headed for the 6th Line Hill, the biggest challenge on the bike course – it’s a steep climb, and as I rode it I passed around 20 athletes who were walking it. It’s been a while since I’ve done this race, so I didn’t remember all the other hills on the route! I discovered while out on the bike course that my watch was very messed up – it was beeping km markers at me left, right and centre! I had no idea my speed or distance, only my overall race time. By the end of the race it told me I had gone 58 km (and called it an open water swim)! The first time I grabbed my bottle of Nuun for a drink, it exploded in my face (not fun!). I must not have shaken it when I dropped the tablet in? Given that it was raining and the roads were wet, I was very careful coming down the 6th Line Hill, braking almost the entire way – I was determined to stay rubber side down – I only let go of my brakes as I neared the incline just before the 90 degree turn onto Campbelville Road. There was a first aid vehicle parked at this intersection – just in case. Back at Kelso I reached the dismount line (heard and saw Alasdair), ran my bike into transition, racked it, took off my helmet, sat down to switch shoes, and started running.

7k run

My legs felt tired right away, and I thought, “Oh boy! This is going to be fun.” But it didn’t take long for them to feel fine. It also didn’t take long for me to remember how hilly this run course is! At one point I started chatting with another athlete named Dean, which helped pass the time and made me think less about the hills! Eventually he left me behind. I had a bit of a side stitch for a few hundred metres but thankfully I was able to get rid of it. The route does 2 sort of out and back sections, and then a loop. Part of it goes along the Bruce Trail through Kelso (where it is a wide path), and this was very muddy! It made me think of my friends who just ran the uber muddy Sulphur Springs Trail Race at the end of May. Given the very short stretch of mud I had to deal with in comparison to them, I couldn’t really complain!

Steepest hill on the run!

Back on the road, it was mostly downhill to the finish, where I got passed in the last few steps by an older woman! Overall, I was pleased with how my race went, given I didn’t exactly start with rested legs! After chatting with some friends, watching the awards, and having post-race food, it was time to jump back on my bike and ride 32k home! I made a brief stop at the Flying Monkey Bike Shop and Coffee Bar in Campbelville for a smoothie, and then headed out into the rain once again. It was so nice to get warm and dry again at home!

Stats

  • 750m swim: 19:01 (2:32 min/100 m)
  • T1: 2:35
  • 30k bike: 1:06:54 (26.9 km/h)
  • T2: 1:40
  • 7k run: 46:30 (6:38 min/km)
  • Time: 2:16:40 (6/10 women 50-54, 63/96 women, 282/357 athletes)
First triathlon finish line of 2024!

Follow me on Facebook: Kyra on the Go: Adventures of a Paddling Triathlete

Follow me on Instagram: @kyraonthego

2 thoughts on “Subaru Milton sprint triathlon 2024

Leave a comment