Race report: Mini snowshoe duathlon – 4k snowshoe + 4k run

After starting snowshoe running this winter, and participating in two snowshoe orienteering races (Don’t Get Lost Snowshoe Raid, and Stars War Adventure Race), I knew I wanted to do a snowshoe running race before the winter was out – i.e. one without orienteering! So I searched online, and found one within a reasonable distance from home: the Personal Best – Caledon Hills Bike Shop Winter Snowshoe & Fat Bike Races. (In fact, it was the only one left this winter that I was able to do without driving for hours and hours!) After checking that there was actually enough snow for the race, I signed up and recruited a friend, who then recruited two more.

The drive to Albion Hills Conservation Area was snowy, but Lisa and I took it slowly and arrived about 45 minutes before the race was to start. We met Mauro there, but unfortunately their friend turned back because of the weather. The temperature was perfect for the race, with the falling snow a nice touch!

It was a quick check in process – we got a race bib and an Awake chocolate bar. This was a no frills race, meaning that it didn’t cost much, but regardless we got a timed race and fantastic trails (no race shirt or medal). They even did some draw prizes before the race, so that people didn’t have to stay afterwards – if you won something, you were told when you registered. Nothing for us today!

While I had registered for the 4k snowshoe + 4k run, there were other events going on at the same time, all on the same trails and roads. Snowshoe runners were to stick to the left, and fat bikers to the right, to avoid any collisions! Here’s the full list of events:

  • Mini snowshoe 4k
  • Mega snowshoe 8k
  • Mini snowshoe duathlon (4k snowshoe + 4k run)
  • Mega snowshoe duathlon (8k snowshoe +4k run)
  • Fat bike 8k
  • Fat bike 16k
  • Fat bike 8k duathlon (8k fat bike + 4k run)

I’d love to do a snowshoe/fat bike/run race!

Pre-race email instructions clearly set out the race route, and showed pictures of spray paint in the snow marking the way, but today’s fresh snow meant that the organizers had to go out and mark it again!

Just before 9:30 AM, we put our snowshoes on and headed outside to the start line, which was just a few feet from the main chalet. The fat bike racers started at 9:30, and the snowshoe runners at 9:33. All told there were about 50 people participating in all of the races combined.

img_8655
Lisa, Mauro and I pre-race.
img_8658
Two of many fat bikes ready to go!

And just like that, we were off! It didn’t take too long for the crowd to thin, and for me to discover the hills! It was such a pretty route through the forest. Once the faster runners lost me, I ran completely on my own for a while – there were slower people behind me who I couldn’t see or hear. Despite being a bit under the weather with a cold, I decided to try to run the entire course. Even the uphills. And there were lots of them! It was so peaceful  in the forest, with lightly falling snow and accumulated snow on the tree branches that I had to stop for a second to take a picture! The trails were nicely groomed by park staff, and it was easy to not get lost, since all I had to do was follow the footsteps of the snowshoers and fat bikers who has passed before me. A couple of fat bikers later passed me, but I figured they must have been late to start. I had no idea how far I had run, and wasn’t even able to estimate based on elapsed time, since I haven’t run on snowshoes enough to do that. I saw one biker do a slow speed tumble, but he was fine. I appreciated the fat bikers yelling “on your right” as they approached from behind. Later, when I was getting close to the end of the 4k loop (which apparently was closer to 3.2k), I was passed by several more fat bikers, who were finishing up their 2nd loops. Thankfully I was not lapped by any snowshoers!

img_8663
Quick photo during the race.

At the end of the snowshoe segment, we were to run through the finishing arch, around the corner, take our snowshoes off and head out onto the park roads for the run.

16601997_1480667081957066_3318359773158901881_o
I swear I was running around this corner, but it sure doesn’t look like it! [Race photo]
My legs definitely felt weird starting the run after having snowshoed! The park roads had been nicely plowed, so while there was some snow, the footing was good! The run route was hilly – more so on the way out, I think. Not too far from the run turnaround, Mauro and then Lisa passed me going the other way. I continued to run the whole thing. At one point on the way back, I asked a woman walking 3 dogs if she wanted to trade places. She offered me a dog, and said it would pull me along! At one point I wasn’t sure which way to go, but asked someone and made the right turn. Coming up the finishing chute, I saw Mauro and Lisa, who cheered me to the finish line! I was pretty happy with how my very first snowshoe running race had gone. It was challenging and super fun!

Afterwards, racers were given a bowl of chili and a hot drink (hot chocolate for me). I changed into dry, warm clothes, and headed home.

I was very impressed with the venue and the organization of the race. Well done Barrie and crew!

img_8667
Pretty, freshly fallen snow.

Race stats:

Time: 54:42.6 (28:20.7 for the snowshoe segment, and 26:21.9 for the running segment, including the transition and me fumbling to quickly remove my snowshoes!)

Overall place: 6/6

Gender place: 4/4

By comparison, had I entered the 4k snowshoe race (no run afterwards), I would have placed 4/19!

I’m looking forward to doing more snowshoe races next winter!

Follow me on Facebook: Kyra on the Go: Adventures of a Paddling Triathlete

Follow me on Twitter: @kyrapaterson